Study | Higher Institute for Applied Sciences and Technology


The duration of study at the Higher Institute to obtain the degree of Bachelor of Science in Engineering is five years.

The study program  consists of a group of courses interconnected with precedence relationships, and integrated from the perspective of fulfilling the program's targeted learning outcomes. It consists of two successive stages:

1- The Foundation Stage:
It extends over two academic years and corresponds to a transitional study program that includes general courses that are common to all accredited study programs at the Higher Institute, and semi-general courses that each share some of those programs. The courses are distributed over the two years, so that the general courses are concentrated in the first year, which is viewed as a general foundational year, while the second year includes the rest of the stage’s courses and is viewed as a foundational year for the specialization, as some of these courses vary according to the targeted orientation in the specialization stage, which may be linked to one study program or more. There are currently four directions at the Higher Institute for the second academic year: one targeting Informatics Engineering program, another targeting Telecommunication, Electronic Systems, and Mechatronics programs, a third targeting Material Science and Engineering program, and a fourth targeting the Aeronautical Engineering program.

2- The Specialization stage:

It extends over three academic years and corresponds to a phased study program that mainly includes specific academic curricula related to the relevant specialization, in addition to general or semi-general curricula that correspond to the need of the specialization and allow for the fulfillment of the targeted learning outcomes of the study program in question. The program also includes a project at the end of the fourth academic year, and a graduation project at the end of the fifth academic year. HIAST currently offers the following specialization programs:

  • Informatics Engineering - Software Engineering & Artificial Intelligence
  • Informatics Engineering - Network & Operating Systems
  • Electronic Systems Engineering
  • Mechatronics Engineering
  • Telecommunication Engineering
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Aeronautical Engineering

Each course of the study program corresponds to a number of learning units, which is the result of dividing the academic load for the course (the number of hours of direct communication inside the class plus the number of hours of estimated personal effort outside the class) by thirty. The number of learning units for courses ranges between one and five, and the total study load for one academic year is not less than 55 learning units.

The definition of the learning unit is consistent with the definition of the Credit Hour adopted in the European system used in this field (European Credit Transfer System ECTS).

The student must meet the success or advancement requirements in each year before he can advance to the next year, and the bachelor’s degree in engineering will not be granted unless he achieves all the credit hours for the five years of study according to what is specified in the program.